Subscribe  Subscribe


 
      WORD A DAY 2020-2021
  Word a Day Schedule for September-October 2020

                  Desert Words
Tuesday, September 8            Myles          kangaroo rat          
Wednesday, September 9       Dawson        saguaro cactus
Thursday, September 10         Keegan        roadrunner
Friday. September 11              Cora            scorpion

Monday, September 14           Natalie        tarantula
Tuesday, September 15          Emmett       coyote
Wednesday, September 16     Hudson        Gila monster
Thursday, September 17        Lauren          jack rabbit
Friday, September 18            Thomas        desert tortoise

Tuesday, September 22         Myles           long-nose bat
Wednesday, September 23    Dawson        turkey vulture
Thursday, September 24       Keegan         camel
Friday, September 25            Cora             meerkat

Monday, September 28          Natalie         Fennec fox
Tuesday, September 29         Emmett        Gila woodpecker
Wednesday, September 30    Hudson         Armadillo lizard
Thursday, October 1              Lauren          prickly pear cactus
Friday, October 2                 Thomas          peccary


Welcome to WORD A DAY 2020-2021!  This is a vocabulary program intended to help the children learn new words in a fun way! Here is how it works.  If it is your child's turn to "show and tell" an assigned word, please refer to the Word a Day tab in the RODEO SKILLS BINDER.  I have provided several pages to use as a template when your child prepares his or her Word a Day presentation. There is space for writing and drawing on this template. Encourage your child to write a simple definition of the word using a resource at home, such as a dictionary, a non-fiction trade book or the Internet. Also, have your child add a picture.  It is fine to draw and color or glue a colored picture from the Internet.smiley

In addition to the writing entry and picture, a visual is certainly welcomed! This will excite the children, and hopefully help them better remember the meaning of the word better! Some resources are suggested below.

**educational video links to the Internet (Please allow me to preview them in advance. Thanks!)
**children's trade books (fiction and nonfiction)
**stuffed toys
**Construction toys...Lego bricks
**craft supplies to create a model of a word (popsicle sticks, pipe cleaners, yarn, cardboard, etc)
**painting a picture or making a large sketch
**modeling clay 
**music/song
I HOPE YOU ENJOY HELPING YOUR CHILD WITH WORD A DAY!
THANK YOU FOR MAKING LEARNING SO MUCH FUN!




 
 

                 
                 
                                              
   

                                




         
 

 
 
PHY-ED CLASS

The first and second graders will enjoy physical education each Monday and Friday morning. Mr. Essig will lead the class as I teach music concepts to the fifth and sixth grade students. We will begin our class on FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 11.

For safety reasons, we ask that on phy-ed days, the children wear shoes that are designed for running and increased activity. No sandals or flip flops, please. Thanks for your help!

..More Information